Wallace is a picturesque seaside village with a diverse cultural heritage. The remnants of The Mi'kmaq habitation and the Acadian Dykes are visible reminders of our native and first European settlers. This fishing and hunting community was then called Remsheg, meaning “the place between”, in the original Mi'qmaw language.
In 1755, the Acadians were expelled from the area because of political animosity between Britain and France. Nearly three decades later, in 1784, United Empire Loyalists, left their homes in America, and were given land grants by the British Crown to found the current community.
In 1825, the name of the community was changed from Remsheg to Wallace in honor of Nova Scotia’s first treasurer, Michael Wallace, and the Scottish hero, William Wallace. The community flourished with a mix of industries such as ship building, forestry, and stone quarries.
Thank You to the Wallace and Area Museum for this information and all the help they have provided. For a more complete history visit them at 13440 Highway 6 (Sunrise Trail) or www.wallacemuseum.ca